Why Language Access?

October 26, 2018 - 9:00am PT, 10:00am MT, 11:00am CT, 12:00pm ET

Agencies have an ethical and legal obligation to provide meaningful access to victims and survivors seeking their services. Being prepared to serve and assist limited English proficient (LEP) victims and survivors benefits staff and promotes help seeking behavior. The Interpretation Technical Assistance Resource Center (ITARC) is the comprehensive TA provider for OVW grantees on language access issues for spoken language. As we enter the second year of our grant, we would like to discuss 1) Our current TA and training projects; 2) Introduce our new Interpreter Training Coordinator, Ana Paula Noguez Mercado, and 3) Hear what language issues programs are facing. The webinar will also cover the following topics: 1) A brief introduction into the legal obligations; 2) Bilingual advocacy vs. Interpretation 3) Budgeting Recommendations 4) Future Training Opportunities and ways to request TA


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:

* Closed Captioning is provided.


You're too late!

Thank you for your interest, but this webinar has passed.



This webinar is hosted by Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.