Resources and Information on COVID-19 Response

Find Out More

Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting: A under-recognized form of gender-based violence in the United States

April 21, 2020 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

Female genital mutilation or cutting (FGM/C) is a reality for many women and girls across different communities in the United States. Yet, for centuries, FGM/C has remained a hidden tradition. It’s often practiced by women to women, and girls are raised to believe they must remain silent about what they underwent. Silence is an endemic or inherent part of this type of gender violence that can lead to lifelong physical and emotional health consequences. At the core of providing better prevention, protection, health and social support services for women and girls is stronger data, enhanced research, and community engagement. Join us for this educational webinar as we explore FGM/C in the United States, its connection to the broader anti-gender-based violence movement, and learn about the intervention and community engagement efforts occurring in this country to support survivors and prevent future generations form experiencing it. Speaker Organizations: Sahiyo - Our mission is to empower Asian communities to end female genital cutting and create positive social change through dialogue, education, and collaboration based on community involvement. U.S. End FGM/C Network - Our mission is to eliminate FGM/C by connecting, supporting, elevating and advocating on behalf of and with diverse U.S. stakeholders engaged in prevention, education, and care.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.


You're too late!

Thank you for your interest, but this webinar has passed.



This webinar is hosted by Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.