Resources and Information on COVID-19 Response

Find Out More

Support Animals and Service Animals are different? What does this mean for the SANE and the patient?

April 27, 2020 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

The effects of sexual and domestic violence and child maltreatment can be profound and life lasting. Support animals can be helpful to patients who have experienced this and other types of trauma in their lives. There are legal protections in place for patients who use service animals. There are broad approaches to assisting survivors of these traumas. Survivors have unique needs and may use support animals for modulating stress and anxiety. Increasingly, therapy animals are being used within criminal justice proceedings and even within exam sites. Therapy and emotional support animals are different from service animals. There are differences in the roles they perform and the legal protections that are in place. How can you tell the difference? What impact can this have on the survivor? What policies should your program have in place to address both types of animals? During this webinar Ashley Brompton from VERA Institute for Justice will talk about support animals and the implications for survivors who may be seeking services after a sexual assault. Questions like the ones we have outlined will be discussed. 1. Recognize the differences between service animals and support animals. 2. Analyze the legal rights of the patient with a support animal 3. Outline some program policy considerations for both service and support animals. 4. Discuss the impact that therapy animals can make for survivors


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.


You're too late!

Thank you for your interest, but this webinar has passed.



This webinar is hosted by International Association of Forensic Nurses with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.