Public Charge and Immigrant Survivors of Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault

October 25, 2018 - 1:00pm PT, 2:00pm MT, 3:00pm CT, 4:00pm ET

Proposed changes by the Department of Homeland Security to “Public Charge” policies will have far-reaching negative impacts on immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. We will discuss what “Public Charge” is, the proposed rule from the Administration that changes how “Public Charge” determinations for immigrants will be made, which immigration categories of survivors are exempt from the rule, how the proposed rule impacts immigrant survivors and their families, and the radical changes in longstanding policies that will limit immigrant families from being allowed into the U.S. or adjusting their status. We will provide resources to support advocates and community members in submitting comments during DHS’s public comment period. If you are an advocate serving immigrant survivors from Asian, African, Arab, Latinx, Pacific Islander, and other immigrant/refugee communities, please register for this webinar!


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:

* Closed Captioning is provided.




This webinar is hosted by Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.