Post Exposure Prophylaxis to HIV: Make it Simple

April 30, 2018 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

: Non-occupational post-exposure prophylaxis (nPEP) should be started rapidly after sexual assault. The CDC treatment guidelines have recommended guidelines in place for occupational exposure since 1996 and non-occupational exposure since 2005. Although the guidelines have been updated and streamlined in subsequent years, healthcare providers still struggle with providing CDC recommended nPEP. The AIDS Education & Training Center (AETC) Program Rural Health Committee, the Georgia Department of Public Health, the IAFN and the National Center for Medical-Legal Partnership has developed a Post-Sexual Exposure nPEP Toolkit. This webinar will provide an overview of the resources and materials that are provided in the toolkit and the circumstances when it should be used. Objectives: 1. Identify when HIV nPEP should be considered post sexual assault. 2. Recognize recommended regimens of antiretroviral medications are for nPEP. 3. List ways to obtain the materials provided in the toolkit for EDs and clinics serving patients who may experience sexual exposure to HIV.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:

* Closed Captioning is provided.


You're too late!

Thank you for your interest, but this webinar has passed.



This webinar is hosted by International Association of Forensic Nurses with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.