Legal Resource Center / American Bar Association Webinar Series

The Legal Resource Center on Violence Against Women (LRC), in partnership with the American Bar Association Commission on Domestic and Sexual Violence, will be offering a three-part webinar series on interstate custody issues for LAV grantees and others in December, 2019.

On December 3, 2019, faculty will present a basic training on interstate custody and domestic violence legal issues. This training will provide attorneys with an introduction to interstate custody and domestic violence laws and practice. Participants will learn about the various federal and state laws that govern interstate custody cases, with a focus on the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act [UCCJEA] and related laws. Case scenarios will be used to demonstrate how attorneys can help survivors address the economic, safety and legal issues involved in interstate cases.

On December 10, 2019, faculty will present a training on advanced interstate custody and domestic violence legal issues. This training will build upon the foundation established in the LRC’s previous training programs. The training will be appropriate for attorneys who have participated in a previous training program and/or who have some experience representing survivors in interstate custody cases. Among other topics, the training will address the following jurisdictional issues: strategies for advising clients who are contemplating relocation; temporary absence (under the UCCJEA); emergency jurisdiction; cases involving children less than six months old; and continuing, exclusive jurisdiction in custody matters.

On December 17, 2019, faculty will present a training on emerging interstate custody and domestic violence legal issues. The training will build upon the foundation established in the LRC’s previous training programs and will address emerging issues for which attorneys have requested technical assistance.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.

Which webinars in this series do you wish to attend?
December 3, 2019 9:30am PT
10:30am MT
11:30am CT
12:30pm ET
Should I Stay or Should I Go? Helping Survivors with Interstate Custody and Relocation Cases
December 10, 2019 9:30am PT
10:30am MT
11:30am CT
12:30pm ET
Using Jurisdictional Statues to Assist Domestic Violence Survivors: Beyond the Basics
December 17, 2019 9:30am PT
10:30am MT
11:30am CT
12:30pm ET
Helping Grantees Improve Services to Domestic Violence Survivors in Interstate Cases: Emerging Issues



This webinar is hosted by American Bar Association Fund For Justice And Education with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.