Introduction to Risk Assessment for Intimate Partner Violence

April 9, 2020 - 12:00pm PT, 1:00pm MT, 2:00pm CT, 3:00pm ET

How can courts and stakeholders incorporate evidence-based best practice in risk assessment to better serve litigants? Over the past several years, researchers have successfully identified factors associated with higher risk of lethality or re-offense at the hands of an intimate partner. With a dramatic surge in the number of domestic violence cases handled by courts nationwide, courts and stakeholders began to seek ways to identify those cases deemed most at risk: either the risk of homicide of the victim or of offender recidivism. However, assessing risk in domestic violence cases can be a challenge for many reasons. Domestic violence is not static —factors such as possession of a weapon and dissolution of the relationship through separation or divorce are dynamic, fluctuating factors in the lives of domestic violence perpetrators and victims. Agencies may be operating with limited information due to time constraints when making decisions regarding arrest, bail, protective orders or supervision. Self-represented litigants may not have a full understanding of their own risk or remedies available to them creating additional challenges in accessing justice in these cases.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.




This webinar is hosted by National Criminal Justice Training Center of Fox Valley Technical College with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.