Resources and Information on COVID-19 Response

Find Out More

Interpreting Toxicology and Drug Facilitated Sexual Assault - Part 2

November 13, 2020 - 10:00am PT, 11:00am MT, 12:00pm CT, 1:00pm ET

Patients/Survivors often face a plethora of issues after a sexual assault. One issue being able to access proper healthcare and obtain a complete medical-forensic examination, that including toxicology screening and testing after a report of potential DFSA. Forensic Nurse Examiners (FNEs)/Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANEs) receive general training on the basics of toxicology testing, but often lack understanding of the physiology of intoxication, the absorption, distribution, and excretion of drugs from the body, the effects of proper education delivered to patients, and the associated costs to conduct toxicology testing. FNEs/SANEs will be able to deliver the knowledge and understanding of reasons why toxicology testing should be completed after a positive screening of their sexual assault patients. Nurses who provide care to sexual assault patients will have knowledge regarding toxicology testing and the physiology of intoxication, to be able to provide competent care based on the evidence and history of DFSA. Participants will be able to understand the complexity of absorption, distribution, and excretion of common drugs associated with a DFSA, articulate the physiology of common drugs associated with DFSA, and apply a basic understanding of DFSA patient-based case scenarios.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.




This webinar is hosted by International Association of Forensic Nurses with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.