Resources and Information on COVID-19 Response

Find Out More

Hague Convention Webinar Series

The Effect of Domestic Violence on Children and Parents and Experience of Battered Mothers and Children in Hague Cases

June 25, 2020 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

This three-part webinar series will introduce civil attorneys to the primary challenges and issues that may arise when representing a battered respondent in a petition for return filed under the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction (“Hague Convention”). The first webinar will focus on how respondents can prepare a defense against the prima facie case established by petitioners under the Hague Convention. The second webinar will explore the exceptions to return articulated under the Hague Convention, and offer attorneys information on how domestic violence relates to the Convention, as well as how to best preserve the record for appeal. The third webinar in the series will provide background information on domestic violence, its impact on children and parents, and the effect of abduction on children living in situations of domestic violence.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.




This webinar is hosted by American Bar Association Fund For Justice And Education with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.