Resources and Information on COVID-19 Response

Find Out More

Dividing Retirement Benefits at Divorce: Understanding the QDRO Process Part II

June 2, 2020 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

Divorced individuals–especially divorced women and/or survivors of domestic violence–are at a greater risk for poverty in old age. A share of a former spouse’s retirement benefit can help, but the process of dividing retirement benefits at divorce is very complex. Former spouses must obtain a Qualified Domestic Relations Order (QDRO). However, many family law attorneys do not feel comfortable getting involved in the QDRO process because it involves knowledge of the retirement system and complex federal laws beyond state domestic relations law. This training will offer family law attorneys a deeper dive into QDROs and retirement plans, and how to overcome the obstacles that may arise in the process of obtaining a QDRO. Participants will also receive additional practice tips and techniques, with special considerations for attorneys representing victims of domestic violence, and have the opportunity to participate in an extended Q&A session.


Thank you for your interest in attending this webinar. To register, please complete the form below:


Accessibility Requirements


* Closed Captioning is provided.




This webinar is hosted by American Bar Association Fund For Justice And Education with support from the TA2TA Project through the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.